Pavarotti’s Greatest Hits is the opera album we bring you ce soir. This double album only has the side 1 &2 in it. But it’s a keeper. It made a great soundtrack to our packing boxes this weekend. We are moving in less than a week! How exciting! I wish that I was more cultured and could speak as elequently about the great Pavarotti, as I am sure he deserves.. but I’m not. I love “shows” and I love opera but know very little about it. It’s on the bucketlist to see some opera. “He is one of the greatest tenors of his generation. You can’t say anything negative about Pavarotti or all of Italy would rise up and beat you to death!”, thank you husband. Well said. My late wonderful Nana was a HUGE Pavarotti fan. I recall seeing dozens of his albums on her gold stand up LP shelf thing.

Turn UP your speakers! And I’m including a youtube comment I enjoyed about his video “That final look! Pure genius! The white paint mainly on one side of the face reminiscent of the mask in “Phantom of the Opera”, yet another man driven insane by love. I ADORE Pava’s interpretation! Not the sad, pitiable clown, as done by Caruso, but the man actually driven insane, during this aria, by unfaithful love! Bravo ll Primo Tenore! No other before or since, like him”

About fireygoddess

Fireygoddess is an Island Princess / mermaid ~ living on Vancouver Island in Beautiful British Columbia Canada. She loves cropping photos, her main squeeze / the scuba dude, throwing laundry down the stairs, upcycling, shiny things, sparkles, fluevog shoes and making art from found objects at the beach.

3 responses »

  1. oddpav says:

    Thank you very much for a very lovely blog post! Pavarotti is my favorite opera singer! I started buying his records in the CD era, but I now buy used Pavarotti LPs whenever I find them. I love vinyl record! I love the large format and the inlay booklets, especially in opera recordings. We really lost something when we went from LPs to CDs!

    Collecting Pavarotti on vinyl is quite enjoyable as most of his LP recordings were issued in various national pressings, such as UK, West-Germany, France, Italy etc. Yes, even East European pressings from the Communist era exists, for example from the DDR (!). The LP covers were sometimes different from country to country.

    There are for instance many national pressings of the recording pictured in your post. It was issued on the Decca label worldwide and on the London label in North America. I see that on your LP it says “2 disques” so this might be a French pressing or North American/Canadian pressing.

    I will explore your blog further! It looks very interesting! If you want to learn more about Pavarotti you and everybody else can go to my blog Odd Pavarotti Blog on: http://oddpavarottiblog.wordpress.com/

PLEASE feel free to COMMENT (you don't have to be registered). I love your feedback!*

