This slideshow requires JavaScript.

500 miles is my fav on this album. It’s just so raw and sad and beautiful. Have a listen below. I used to finger pick it on my guitar at kids camp. Yup, I did. I had the sheet music and everything, loved this album too. Love the cover art. Should it be in my TOP20 album cover art category? Peter, Paul and Mary is the self titled name of this 1962 album. Which I believe is their FIRSt album! I’m stoked to have it and gain there were 2 copies of it in the record cover! If I had  hammer, Lemon Tree and Leaving on a Jetplane are the other hits from this record. We sang leaving on a jetplane at the last campfire of every 2 week session of camp as both a camper and camp counsellor in Georgian bay in Ontario ~ and I played it on my  guitar also. So cheesy and awesome. Takes me right back.

wiki: Manager Albert Grossman created Peter, Paul and Mary in 1961, after auditioning several singers in the New York folk scene. After rehearsing them out of town in Boston and Miami, Grossman booked them into The Bitter End, a coffee house and popular folk music venue in New York City‘sGreenwich Village. They recorded their first album, Peter, Paul and Mary, the following year. It included “Lemon Tree“, “500 Miles“, and the Pete Seeger hit tunes “If I Had a Hammer” (subtitled “(The Hammer Song)”) and “Where Have All the Flowers Gone?“. The album was listed in the Billboard Magazine Top Ten for 10 months, including seven weeks in the #1 position. It remained a main catalog-seller for decades to come, eventually selling over two million copies, earning Double Platinum certification from the RIAA in the United States alone.

 

About fireygoddess

Fireygoddess is an Island Princess / mermaid ~ living on Vancouver Island in Beautiful British Columbia Canada. She loves cropping photos, her main squeeze / the scuba dude, throwing laundry down the stairs, upcycling, shiny things, sparkles, fluevog shoes and making art from found objects at the beach.

PLEASE feel free to COMMENT (you don't have to be registered). I love your feedback!*

