This slideshow requires JavaScript.

1982 K-tel presents THE HIT LIST. I don’t even know where to begin. The first album ~as excited as we were for a true 80s k-tel classic~ was a jump on the needle and make the pain stop, kind of album. My sweety insisted we not give up and try to listen to all albums in their entirety. Well, he was on to something. The second album turned out to have some the most memory laden songs that were the soundtrack to my early youth. The kind of early youth that ~I was listening to these songs on the radio top 10 at 6pm… from my inner tube, while playing barbies ~ around the family campfire, in Southampton, Ontario. Can you just picture it? Are you with me? I’m wearing pony tails and loving Morning Train and Kiss on My List.Watching the radio as the sound came out of it. I’m not THAT old. Lol. I was 6 or 7 years old when these songs were hot.

Further to that story, I fondly recall being a wee child in London, Ontario ~ and going to the fish’n’chip place in “the mall”. Usually with my Dad, we’d pick up take out for the family. I was mesmerized by the fact that the guy rolled our food in newspaper and he gave all kids free pop. We sat with the friendly man wearing a white captains hat and always gresey whte long apron. We waited for our food, I coloured and drank orange pop and we all listened to Juice Newton pump out ANGEL OF THE MORNING. It felt like she was doing it for teh first time, every time. And it came on the radio, I swear.. every hour. 1981 & 1982, I loved you. The only omission on this record is some Culture Club and some Cyndi Lauper.

wiki: Written and composed by New York-born songwriter Chip Taylor, “Angel of the Morning” was originally offered to Connie Francis to sing, but she turned it down because she thought that it was too risqué for her career.The most successful C&W version of the song – tying with the Juice Newton version discussed in the paragraph below – is the 1978 release by Melba Montgomery which reached #22 on the Billboard C&W chart. Previously “Angel of the Morning” had appeared on the Billboard C&W chart via a rendition by Connie Eaton (#34/ 1970).

9 to 5” is the title of a popular song written by British songwriter Florrie Palmer and recorded by Sheena Easton in 1980, becoming her biggest hit. It peaked at number three in the United Kingdom in August 1980 and was released in the United States in February 1981 (retitled “Morning Train” to avoid confusion with Dolly Parton’s “9 to 5”), where it reached number one.

PLEASE feel free to COMMENT (you don't have to be registered). I love your feedback!*

