Roy Orbison `the all-time greatest hits of Roy. What an exciting score. I believe this album was either my mom’s or a really old thrift that I’ve had for years. It’s the hits, he’s a swuave gent, what more can I say?  Would you like to hear the story of my very FIRST live concert EVER?

Picture this: 1981? I’m under 10 years old… London, Ontario Western fair Grounds outdoor theatre concert. My mom, my older brother Jason and I, hand in hand, soaked to the bone ~ in the pouring rain. We are front row, centre, as we waited, probably complaining the entire afternoon for the spot.  My mother was in love with Roy. (I’m pretty sure this is her old water soaked record). We were wearing black jimmied up, garbage bag raincoats and eating popcorn underneath them, while holding her hand. The lights dim, the crowd is silent, the lights come up.. Roy has his black, tight, leather pants ~ass shaking ~facing us. He turns around with those giant black sunglasses on and swoons “only the lonely”… my mother lets out a scream like you’d picture from a crazed Beattles fan. Covering  her mouth and screaming, I am sure she has just been shot. Concerts were new to me and I didn’t understand that she was excited, not actually in pain. The rest of the rainy concert is a blur. But he’s passed on and I can say “I saw Roy Orbison live”. 

This video didn’t enable embedding, but I’m hoping doing it this way will get to the video of.. Pretty Woman Live on.. the Dukes of Hazzards. 

Roy Kelton Orbison (April 23, 1936 – December 6, 1988) was an American singer-songwriter, best known for his distinctive, powerful voice, complex compositions, and dark emotional ballads. Orbison grew up in Texas and began singing in a rockabilly/country and western band in high school until he was signed by Sun Records in Memphis. His greatest success came with Monument Records between 1960 and 1964, when 22 of his songs placed on theBillboard Top Forty, including “Only the Lonely“, “Crying“, and “Oh, Pretty Woman“. His career stagnated through the 1970s, but several covers of his songs and the use of “In Dreams” in David Lynch‘s Blue Velvet revived his career in the 1980s. In 1988, he joined the supergroup Traveling Wilburys with George HarrisonBob DylanTom Petty, and Jeff Lynne and also released a new solo album. He died of a heart attack in December that year, at the zenith of his resurgence. His life was marred by tragedy, including the death of his first wife and his two eldest sons in separate accidents.

Maybe it’s just been an emotional week for me.. but c’mooon. You just try not to get goose bumps at around the 3 min mark of this video. K.D. and Roy were at the top of their games here. What do you think?

Here’s my question for you blog record friends… why did Roy where the black glasses all the time? Was he actually blind?

Related articles

About fireygoddess

Fireygoddess is an Island Princess / mermaid ~ living on Vancouver Island in Beautiful British Columbia Canada. She loves cropping photos, her main squeeze / the scuba dude, throwing laundry down the stairs, upcycling, shiny things, sparkles, fluevog shoes and making art from found objects at the beach.

PLEASE feel free to COMMENT (you don't have to be registered). I love your feedback!*

