Happy Friday record blog friends. I actually worked today (I know right.. I realize how “lucky” I have been while building my practice/ business to have fridays  off until recently when the rest of the world is in a cubicle. insert drama), so I’m pooped. Working means being able to say  another “baby ~ I put a toonie in the honeymoon fund”. We have dreams of heading away somewhere tropical but try as we might this past year for xmas / then our one year anniversary came and went.. we have not been able to slip away. So the fund grows slowly with dreams of Bali ? Thailand / India / whereever our couch change will take us, maybe this xmas. For now ~ let’s go there with today’s Soundtrack from South Pacific.

It’s a 1958 Soundtrack, It’s not QUITE Top 30 album of 2012 material, but I’m going to slip it into the TOP 20 album cover art category.. c’mooon! I didn’t even realize that I had  made a category for “Bali Ha’i covers.. awesome me. There are so many awesome foundational songs that came from this album ~ It was hard to pick a subject header. My favs? Bali Ha’i obviously, Some Enchanted Evening, Younger than Springtime, Happy Talk (can’t  you see that hand actions as I type that?) and more. Which is your fav?

RCA Victor’s Rodgers & Hammerstein’s South pacific gives us great cover art and a solid dreamy soundtrack to a different place and time. There’s palm tress all around so we may overlook the world war II theme that is the basis of this tropical love story. I was featured in this musical in highschool. Oh yes. Here’s a share : I was captain Cable McGurk and smoked a stoggie on stage for 4 nights.

I am also developing a list (for my amazing, yes AMAZING husband) for downloading of RECORD BLOG MUSIC RELATED MOVIES. This will be one of them. I will endevour to either watch them and review on here or maybe in the last month of the project? What do you think? I’m reviewing the original – let’s be clear – not the 2001 harry conick jr film of teh same name, released for televsion. Love blossoms on a paradisical South Seas island during World War II in this splashy screen production of the hit Broadway musical. A Navy nurse falls for a French planter, an American lieutenant woos a fetching native girl and an assortment of sailors lust after female military personnel. All this amorous activity, with the attendant problems of interracial romance, provide fodder for the some of Rodger & Hammerstein’s most famous and well-loved tunes, including “I’m Gonna Wash That Man Right Out of My Hair,” “Bali Ha’i,” and “Got to Be Taught to Hate.”Here’s the trailor for this gem: 

“That ain’t all halibut in that Leutenant, you know”.

About fireygoddess

Fireygoddess is an Island Princess / mermaid ~ living on Vancouver Island in Beautiful British Columbia Canada. She loves cropping photos, her main squeeze / the scuba dude, throwing laundry down the stairs, upcycling, shiny things, sparkles, fluevog shoes and making art from found objects at the beach.

PLEASE feel free to COMMENT (you don't have to be registered). I love your feedback!*

