We shake it up today and bring you a different kind of JOHNNY CASH SUNDAY! Today’s JC tribute is by the one and only Crystal Gayle. OMG, I know right? I’ll disclose here that she was a hair role model for my hair dressor mother and myself for the better part of a decade, as I attempted to grow my hair ( like a zillion other girsl in that era) floor- length like Crystal Gayle. 

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I was so excited when i saw this album in the huge thrift store stack.. only to find out that it doesn’t actually have her main HIT DON’T IT MAKE MY BROWN EYES BLUE.  I reluctantly listened to side A of her early country hits on WHERE I DREAM. boo “rethrift” I said. Then near the end of Side B.. what do we find? A cover of JOHNNY CASH’S I Still Miss Someone! awesome. It’s slow and dreamy. Here’s a video of her doing it live in 1981. This album is still a country rethrift but what a lovely memory of wanting to be like her and tribute to JC.   Crystal Gayle (born Brenda Gail Webb on January 9, 1951) is an American country music singer best known for her 1977 country-pop hit, “Don’t It Make My Brown Eyes Blue“. An award-winning singer, she accumulated 18 number one country hits during the 1970s and 1980s. She is also famous for her once nearly floor-length hair (currently knee-length) and was voted one of the 50 most beautiful people in the world in 1983. She is the younger sister of singer Loretta Lynn (16 years younger) and a distant cousin of singer Patty Loveless. Crystal Gayle has a star on the Hollywood Walk of Fame, near Loretta Lynn’s star.

HAPPY JOHNNY CASH DAY

About fireygoddess

Fireygoddess is an Island Princess / mermaid ~ living on Vancouver Island in Beautiful British Columbia Canada. She loves cropping photos, her main squeeze / the scuba dude, throwing laundry down the stairs, upcycling, shiny things, sparkles, fluevog shoes and making art from found objects at the beach.

PLEASE feel free to COMMENT (you don't have to be registered). I love your feedback!*

